top of page
Search

My Child Swallowed a Thumbtack!

My child swallowed a thumbtack!!! Well sort of not really. We get so stressed at silly things and care for our children so much that we worry about little things like did my child swallow a thumbtack?!? Let me tell you about Nehemiah. He is a ball of fire. He will run and jump off a 50 foot bridge at the age of 1 and a half years. He never stops. He does not like naps. He says mama and dada to get what he wants. He would tear down an entire room of TVs and electronics for fun just to hear the crashing noises. I guess that's what he wants. I don't know. I do know he can add a lot of stress to our life when we are not thinking of how old he is and we start to think he purposely destroys stuff to make us mad. But we know better because he is only 1 and a half years old! No baby thinks... hey I feel like making mom and dad's lives worse today... they just like noise and vivid imagery (like a tv crashing to the floor with sparks and all). Haha. So we have learned to remember he is a baby not a grown, thinking adult. He was playing in his room one day recently. I looked around and he was just playing vigorously and throwing all his toys as usual. I looked to the right and there was a few toys bundled up in a mess and had the mark of the toddler (teeth marks). I looked to the left and saw a second twisted up pile of destruction and laying on the floor was a piece of paper. I know that was hanging up with a thumbtack! Where's the thumbtack? Is it in the vent? Nope! Is it under his bed? Nope! In a frenzy throwing all the toys around I found no thumbtack! I asked Nehemiah... "hey buddy where is it?"... Nehemiah slobbering said "hey" and handed me the red thumbtack! Sighs in relief. God really does protect us when we don't even think about the unknown. No more thumbtacks in Nehemiah's reach now. But sometimes you overlook obvious parenting techniques and you need God. Well He protected Nehemiah that day and we are forever grateful for His mercy.

34 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page